Gluten is a protein element which comprises of prolamins and glutelins. It is found in wheat, rye, triticale, barley, and wheat-based products, up to some extent in oats. Therefore, the wheat-based products which have high gluten content are einkorn, graham, wheat berries, emmer, spelled, durum, semolina, and farina. It is also found in wheat flour. Furthermore, Gluten helps in keeping the shape and structure intact. For instance, the dough made of wheat flour. It is the gluten and starch present in wheat flour which keeps the dough as one single structure. In the gluten free snacks, the dough will not have that sticky behavior.
How To Look For Gluten Free Snacks?
To enjoy some snacks without gluten, you need to know what contains gluten. If you are well informed about which ingredient contains gluten, then you can easily avoid it. In addition to it, you can have a proper gluten-free diet as well. To munch on some gluten free snacks, here are the ingredients rich in gluten. Further, before snacking, check whether the food contains any gluten or not.
Is Wheat Gluten Free Snacks
It is the first ingredient which contains high levels of gluten. The wheat-based products also contain gluten and hence they must be avoided. Almost every snacking item is made of wheat or some wheat-based product. The snacks which contain gluten are listed below.
- Baked goods
- Salad dressings
Is Barley Gluten Free Snacks
Often considered as an excellent ingredient for snacks, barley is rich in gluten. There aren’t any gluten free snacks made of barley. The list of meals is mentioned below.
- Malted Milkshakes
- Malt Syrup
- Food Color
- Brewer’s Yeast
This too is a gluten-rich ingredient and can be found in the flowing snacks.
- Beer made of Rye
This grain is formed by cross-contamination of barley and rye. It is quite similar to wheat and it can be found in various snacks.
This one ingredient is a naturally gluten-free grain. It has lots of nutritional benefits — people, who are intolerant to gluten, often snack on oats. Now you might think, then why is it on this list? Well, this is because of cross-contamination. Even though oats are great for celiac and autoimmune disease patients, it has possibilities of being contaminated. Also, there are couples of oats dishes and products which can be munched as gluten free snacks.
Oats are naturally gluten-free, but during the processing of oats, it gets contaminated. This problem causes due to the processing of oats along with gluten-rich ingredients. However, they are processed in the same machinery and contaminate it. Further, during the packaging and transportation period, manufacturers don’t pay much attention. As a result, cross-contamination takes place. Meanwhile, the best way to eat gluten-free oats is by checking the package. The packages labeled with 100% gluten-free are pure oats.
Now when you are aware of the snacks rich in gluten, prepare a chart for yourself. Eliminate the gluten-rich snacks so that you know what to eat.